30 Days (or more) to a Better Man – Day 18? – Heyyo! I’m Back :)

I’m sure there was doubt, but I have defied the odds because I Am BACK!! It feels SO great to be back here typing away for my runty, but fantastic, audience. It was a rough week of exams and it won’t be the last one, but it’s over for now and we will move on. Follow my descent into silence by going here, then here and finally, go here. This bloginconsistent Jacksfilms has become as consistent as a YouTube channel that promises new videos every “blank”day (enjoy that vague youtuber joke and link). Sorry about that.

Anyway, it is time to get back to the “daily” series 30 days to a better man. “Today” is about finding your nuts. It’s harder than it sounds. Alright, innuendos aside, this was actually meant to be a thoughtful and deep day. N.U.T.s stands for Non-negotiable, Unalterable Terms. This is supposed to be the things in your life you are steadfastly out to hold onto. Mostly in the moral or ideal department. Some examples: I say what I want, I do as I see fit, I do not tolerate my wife’s attempts to belittle me and so on. I picked some of the more over-the-top options found on AoM, but this is meant to be serious. I have no idea why, but I have struggled beyond belief with this one. I’m not a very pushy person and I don’t enjoy being really set in my ways unless I’m really passionate about something like the undeniable quality of anime or the pronunciation of Redamak’s. NoneRedamaks the less, I struggled. The examples on the site (find them here) just seemed so generic or selfish. I wasn’t a fan and they weren’t getting my creative juices flowing (as nasty as it sounds). My scientific personality type is INFJ (click on it to learn about me because I’m apparently a rare breed) and it basically puts me as the lovable do-gooder. BettyWhich is about me to a T because I can’t even do the InFamous playthrough of THE GAME InFamous: Second Son. My conscience has eaten away at my mettle after betraying Betty and that’s only the first choice. I’m getting too wordy again.

I guess what I’m trying to get at is that I don’t know what my basic N.U.T.s are. When the situations that arise in my life to wield my NUTs then I’ll do it. The way AoM puts it is this: Relationships would be a lot simpler if the people involved were able to quickly and simply state their NUTs so there is no confusion or toe-stepping later on. I mean, fair enough. I’ve had friendships in which it would haven been Sooo beneficial if we had gotten something out in the open right away. But I don’t think people are that simple. I take a lot of pride in being able to see through the facades people put up. Just another interesting skills in the tool belt of an INFJ. I picked my career because I understand people and I like to make others happy. I don’t want to antagonize anyone over at AoM. I love their site and the content they put out and it’s brave to ask people to funnel down their motives into bite-size pieces. I even somewhat agree that some characteristics about people are obvious and can be plainly stated, but that seems to be a limit view on human personality. 90% of the fun of really getting to know someone is exploring them and discovering what makes them who they are. Actually, that’s 100% of the fun. You learn best by experience so experiencing people’s boundaries is the best way to get closer to them. If they really care about knowing YOU, then they’ll figure out your NUTs by themselves.

Again, I don’t want to downgrade AoM too much. Knowing what makes you specifically you is also important. So there is value behind hunting down a couple NUTs. A personal example could be that I’m a Christian. It’s an important aspect of who I am, but it isn’t something you would get immediately when meeting me. Now, I’m not saying you should Cashiershove these traits down random people’s throats. I don’t go to the supermarket and tell the cashier I’m a Christian while she rings up my frozen pizza. But if I’m at a party and the conversation goes somewhere I don’t feel comfortable, then I can already be prepared to pull myself out of the situation. I have an understanding of my own boundaries and the basic components of myself. This is where I personally find the value of knowing a few of your NUTs.

Overall, “today’s” task was pretty entertaining. I got to run through my house yelling “I can’t find my nuts!” so there is always that. I’m honestly just so excited to be back and I really hope this latest installment in this series was at least mildly entertaining. I mostly just hope I’ve helped someone waste time at work.

I’ll be Back,

Aartrium

And now for what you really came for (links, it’s links):

Austin – https://memegenerator.net/instance/39943788

Jacksfilms – https://maddiegudenkauf.wordpress.com/tag/jacksfilms/

Redamaks – http://aht.seriouseats.com/archives/2011/08/redamaks-burger-review-new-buffalo-mi.html

Betty – http://www.game-over.com/content/2014/03/infamous-second-son/#sthash.OF9g2vjL.dpbs

Cashier – http://m.inmagine.com/image-is098v384-Female-cashier-and-customer-at-supermarket-checkout.html

Terminator – https://giphy.com/search/terminator

Leave a Reply

